STATUTORY AND ADVISORY COMMITTEES, WORKING PARTIES AND PANELS – MEMBERSHIP 2010/11

Note: figures in brackets indicate the political ratio, i.e. (Conservative: Labour: Liberal Democrat); asterisk indicates party spokesperson.

(1) STATUTORY COMMITTEES AND PANELS (listed under relevant portfolio)

(a) CHILDREN'S SERVICES AND LIFELONG LEARNING

(i) Complaints Panel (School Curriculum and Related Matters) (1:1:1 plus named deputies)

Councillor Paul Hayes (Deputies – Councillors Karen Hayes, Cherry Povall, Wendy Clements)

Councillor Chris Meaden (Deputies - Councillors A E R Jones, W Smith, P A Smith, C Meaden)

Councillor Tom Harney (Deputies - A Bridson, D Mitchell, Mrs P M Williams)

(ii) Education Staff Panel (3:2:2 plus named deputies)

Councillors Paul Hayes, Wendy Clements, Cherry Povall (Deputies – Karen Hayes, Tony Pritchard)

Councillors George Davies, Chris Meaden (Deputies – P A Smith, W Smith, A E R Jones, D E Roberts, C Meaden)

Councillors Tom Harney*, Pat Williams (Deputies – A Brighouse, R Wilkins)

(iii) Headteacher Appointments Panel (2:1:1 plus named deputies)

Councillor Paul Hayes, Karen Hayes (Deputies – Cherry Povall, Wendy Clements, Tony Pritchard)

Councillors Chris Meaden (Deputies - P A Smith, W Smith, A E R Jones, A McArdle, D E Roberts)

Councillor Tom Harney* (Deputies - S A Holbrook, S Kelly)

(iv) School Appeals Panel

Lay Chairs: Mrs H A Wells, Mrs C Muspratt, Mr J Smallthwaite and Dr N Eden

(v) Standing Advisory Committee on Religious Education (SACRE) (2:2:2)

Councillors Tony Pritchard, Karen Hayes (Deputy – Paul Hayes)

Councillors Tony Smith, Walter Smith (Deputies – W J Davies, A McArdle, Mrs C M Meaden, A E R Jones)

Councillors Dave Mitchell, Pat Williams (Deputies – Phil Gilchrist, M Johnston)

(vi) Wirral Schools Forum (Funding Consultative Group) - Observers (1:1:1)

Councillor Paul Hayes Councillor P A Smith Councillor Tom Harney

(vii) School Admissions Forum (1:1:1)

Councillor Sheila Clarke Councillor Phil Davies Councillor Tom Harney

(viii) Children and Young People's Strategic Partnership Board (1:1:1)

Cabinet member – Councillor Sheila Clarke (Chair) and Councillors Chris Meaden and Tom Harney

(ix) Adoption / Fostering Panels

Adoption: Councillor Sheila Clarke

Fostering: Councillors Sheila Clarke, Adrian Jones and Mark Johnston

(b) HOUSING AND COMMUNITY SAFETY

(i) Housing Review Panel (1:1:1 plus named deputies)

Councillor Tony Pritchard (Deputies - Mrs K Wood, D Knowles)
Councillor George Davies (Deputies - A R C McLachlan, R L Abbey, J V Stapleton)
Councillor Stuart Kelly (Deputies - A T Jennings, P T C Reisdorf, Pat Williams)

(ii) Unified Waiting List Management Advisory Board (2:2:1 plus named deputies)

Councillors Chris Blakeley*, Denis Knowles (Deputy – Tony Pritchard)
Councillors George Davies*, A R C McLachlan (Deputies - R L Abbey, J V Stapleton, H Smith)
Councillor Stuart Kelly (Deputy - A T Jennings)

(c) SOCIAL CARE AND INCLUSION

(i) Discharge from Guardianship by Wirral Council under the Mental Health Act 1983 Panel (1:1:1) (Members to be appointed from membership of Health and Well Being Overview and Scrutiny Committee)

Councillor Geoffrey Watt Councillor Moira McLaughlin Councillor Ann Bridson

(2) ADVISORY COMMITTEES AND WORKING PARTIES (listed under relevant portfolio)

(a) CHILDREN'S SERVICES AND LIFELONG LEARNING

(i) Youth and Play Service Advisory Committee (8 Council members - 3:3:2)

Councillors Karen Hayes, Wendy Clements, Cherry Povall (Deputy – Paul Hayes) Councillors Tony Smith, Chris Meaden, Walter Smith (Deputies – A E R Jones, D E Roberts)

Councillors Tom Harney*, Pat Williams (Deputies - A T Jennings, P Reisdorf)

(ii) Virtual School Governing Body (2:2:2)

Councillors Sheila Clarke, Wendy Clements Councillors Chris Meaden, Moira McLaughlin Councillors Tom Harney, Pat Williams

(iii) Headteachers and Teachers Joint Consultative Cttee (7 Council members - 3:2:2)

Councillors Sheila Clarke*, Paul Hayes, Karen Hayes
Councillors George Davies, Chris Meaden (Deputies – A E R Jones, (tba), K J
Williams, D E Roberts)
Councillors Tom Harney, Pat Williams (Deputies – A Bridson, P Gilchrist)

(iv) SEN Advisory Committee (1:1:1)

Councillor Tony Pritchard Councillor Tony Smith (Deputies – K J Williams, W W Smith, C Meaden) Councillor Tom Harney (Deputy - A Bridson)

(v) Wirral Schools' Music Service Consultative Committee (1:1:1)

Councillor Sheila Clarke Councillor Walter Smith Councillor Pat Williams

(b) CORPORATE SERVICES

(i) Members' Training Steering Group (1:1:1)

Councillor Chris Blakeley Councillor Ann McLachlan Councillor Tom Harney

(ii) Members' Equipment Steering Group (1:1:1)

Councillor Jeff Green Councillor Adrian Jones Councillor Peter Reisdorf

(c) CULTURE, TOURISM AND LEISURE

(i) Birkenhead Park Advisory Committee (2:4:2)

Councillors Cherry Povall, Sheila Clarke Councillors Brian Kenny, Phil Davies, George Davies (c), Denise Roberts Councillors Stuart Kelly, Simon Holbrook

(ii) Hilbre Island Nature Reserve Management Committee (4:2:2)

Councillors Gerry Ellis, John Hale, Jeff Green, Geoffrey Watt Councillors Jerry Williams, Tony Smith Councillors Gill Gardiner*, Peter Reisdorf

(iii) Heritage Champion

Councillor Jerry Williams (subject to annual review).

(iv) Parks and Countryside Service Options Group (2:2:2)

Councillors David Elderton, Tom Anderson Councillors Tony Smith, Jerry Williams Councillors Bob Moon, Dave Mitchell

(d) ENVIRONMENT

(I) Wirral Climate Change Group (1:1:1)

Councillor Tom Anderson Councillor John Salter Councillor Gill Gardiner

(e) HOUSING AND COMMUNITY SAFETY

Anti-Social Behaviour Partnership Body

Councillors Chris Blakeley, Sheila Clarke, Tony Pritchard Councillor George Davies (Deputies: Councillors H Smith, KJ Williams) Councillor Bob Wilkins (Deputies: Councillors D Mitchell, S Kelly)

(e) REGENERATION AND PLANNING STRATEGY

(i) Birkenhead Town Centre Consultative Group (2:2:1)

Councillors Andrew Hodson, Simon Mountney Councillors Brian Kenny, Jean Stapleton Councillor Stuart Kelly